All students are entitled to rigorous, relevant and engaging learning programs drawn from a challenging curriculum that address their individual learning needs. Individual schools are best placed to make local decisions around implementation in order to best provide access to the learning entitlement of all students.

At SFX, the staff are able to decide how best to deliver the curriculum, drawing on integrated approaches where appropriate and using pedagogical approaches that take account of students’ needs, interests and the school and community context.

The Australian Curriculum, provided by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and

Reporting Authority (ACARA), sets out what students are expected to learn and an expectation of the quality of learning.

These are set out in the following curriculum learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages
    • R-4 Italian; 5/6 Chinese

Religious Education

The Religious Education learning area remains a vital part of the formal curriculum.

At SFX, the Religious Education curriculum can be delivered either as a stand-alone subject or through an integrated approach. The Made in the Image of God – Human Sexuality

Curriculum and the Keeping Safe Child Protection Curriculum are also required to be taught. 


At SFX any homework set will be considered so that:

  • the homework is appropriate to the age and ability of the students
  • it recognises students have other commitments such as sport and home responsibilities
  • the homework does not disadvantage students who do not have access to technology such as email and the internet.

St Francis Xavier's Primary School

 R-6 Co-educational Catholic School

Access Student Email